Local Organising Committee



Associate Professor Isabelle Ansorge
IAPSO – Vice President
Head: Department of Oceanography, University of Cape Town

Isabelle is the Head of Oceanography Department at UCT. Isabelle’s research interests focus on the impact changes in the Antarctic Circumpolar Current have on Subantarctic Islands and their ecosystem functioning. In addition, she is the Chair of the LOC IAPSO-IAMAS-IAGA 2017 Joint Assembly and is currently the Vice President of IAPSO.


Ms Tamaryn Morris
ASCA Coordinator, SAEON

Tammy coordinates the Agulhas System Climate Array (ASCA) of moorings on the east coast of South Africa. She is currently doing research on mesoscale eddies impacting the Agulhas Current and the downstream impacts of these perturbations on this powerful Western Boundary Current.



  Mr Johan Stander
Regional Manager, South African Weather Service

Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) UNESCO and World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Co-President for the Joint Commission for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology (JCOMM) and the South African Weather Service Regional Manager for Western Cape, Northern Cape and Marine.



  Dr John Bosco Habarulema
Researcher, South African National Space Agency (SANSA) and Rhodes University

He has a PhD in Space Physics from Rhodes University, South Africa, and is a researcher at SANSA.
His research interests include ionospheric modeling, low-latitude electrodynamics and associated potential to launch atmospheric gravity waves (travelling ionospheric disturbances, TIDs) which propagate polewards from the equatorial regions, and ionospheric dynamics especially during disturbed conditions

  Dr Pierre Cilliers
Senior Researcher, South African National Space Agency (SANSA)

Dr Cilliers has a PhD in Electrical Engineering from the University of Pretoria. Since 2004 he has worked in Space Physics and currently focuses on Space Weather modelling and Geomagnetically Induced Currents. Dr Cilliers facilitated the deployment of magnetometers at the South African research bases in Antarctica, and Marion Island during IPY.

  Dr Pieter Kotzé
Senior Research Fellow, SANSA

Pieter Kotzé is a Senior Research Fellow at the South African National Space Agency in Hermanus. His research activities focus on Earth, planetary and stellar magnetic fields, in particular the time-varying characteristics of the geomagnetic field of Southern Africa and the South Atlantic Anomaly, as well as geomagnetic storms resulting from solar and heliospheric variations, using data from ground surveys, magnetic observatories and satellites. He holds a PhD in physics from the University of Stellenbosch and has been a visiting scientist at several Max Planck Institutes in Germany.