Host Associations

The Joint Assembly 2017 will be hosted by IAPSO, IAMAS and IAGA.

iapso image

The International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Oceans (IAPSO) promotes the study of the physical sciences of the oceans and the interactions taking place at the sea floor, coastal, and atmospheric boundaries by organising international forums and publishing written materials for ocean scientists throughout the world. Commissions, sub-committees, and workshops encourage new and advanced international research activities. In addition, IAPSO provides basic services such as the Permanent Service for Mean Sea Level and the IAPSO Standard Seawater Service. IAPSO collaborates closely with UNESCO's Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) and ICSU's Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR). The president of IAPSO is a member of the SCOR Executive Committee as is the president of IAMAS.

IAPSO has International Commissions on the following topics:

  • Mean Sea Level and Tides
  • Properties of sea water (Joint with SCOR and IAPWS)
  • Tsunami Commission (Joint with IASPEI and IAVCEI)
  • Georisk Commission (Joint with IAMAS, IAHS, IASPEI and IAVCEI)
  • International Ocean Network (Joint with IASPEI and IAGA)



The International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS) promotes research in all atmospheric sciences, especially programmes requiring international co-operation. IAMAS leads the Alliance for Capacity Transfer (ACT) - a joint activity of IUGG, the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO), and the U.S. University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR). IAMAS is composed of 10 International Commissions on the following topics:

  • Atmospheric Chemistry and Global Pollution (ICACGP)
  • Atmospheric Electricity (ICAE)
  • Climate (ICCL)
  • Clouds and Precipitation (ICCP)
  • Dynamic Meteorology (ICDM)
  • Middle Atmosphere (ICMA)
  • Planetary Atmospheres and their Evolution (ICPAE)
  • Polar Meteorology (ICPM)
  • Ozone (IOC)
  • Radiation (IRC)
IAGA logo 190

The International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA) welcomes scientists to join in research of magnetism and Aeronomy of the Earth, of other bodies of the solar system, and of the interplanetary medium and its interaction with these bodies. IAGA sponsors workshops, symposia, and research efforts through INTERMAGNET to modernize and standardize global observations of the Earth's magnetic field. IAGA is subdivided into the following Divisions and Commissions with working groups on subjects of interest.

  • Division I: Internal Magnetic Fields
  • Division II: Aeronomic Phenonema
  • Division III: Magnetospheric Phenonema
  • Division IV: Solar Wind and Interplanetary Field
  • Division V: Geomagnetic Observatories, Surveys and Analyses
  • Division VI: Electromagnetic Induction in the Earth and Planetary Bodies
  • Interdivisional Commission on Developing Countries
  • Interdivisional Commission on History
  • Interdivisional Commission on Education and Outreach
  • Interdivisional Commission on Space Weather
  • Joint Inter-association Working Groups