Scientific Programme Committee

Associate Professor Isabelle Associate Professor Isabelle Ansorge
Vice President, IAPSO
Head of Oceanography
Oceanography Department, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Isabelle is the Head of Oceanography Department at UCT. Isabelle’s research interests focus on the impact changes in the Antarctic Circumpolar Current have on Subantarctic Islands and their ecosystem functioning. In addition, she is the Chair of the LOC IAPSO-IAMAS-IAGA 2017 Joint Assembly and is currently the Vice President of IAPSO.
Prof. MANDEA Prof. MANDEA Mioara (IAGA)
Solid Earth Programme Manager
Centre National d'Etudes Spatiale, Paris, France

Mioara has worked with geosciences institutions and universities in Romania, in France and Germany. Her research interests mainly concern measuring, mapping, and understanding the multitude of magnetic fields encountered in near Earth and near Earth-like planets. She authored some 244 publications and 382 abstracts for conference materials (end 2016). Detailed information on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Prof. Teruyuki Prof. Teruyuki Nakajima (IAMAS)
Secretary General, IAMAS
Director, JAXA Earth Observation Research Center
Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), Japan

Serving as the secretary general of IAMAS bureau, associate member of Science Council of Japan and others. Contributing to research for radiative transfer of the atmosphere and ocean, remote sensing of aerosol and cloud microphysics, and modeling study of anthropogenic aerosol effects to the earth's climate.
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Eduard Assoc. Prof. Dr. Eduard Petrovsky (IAGA)
President, IAGA
Institute of Geophysics CAS, Prague, Czech Republic

Graduated in 1984 from solid state physics. Since then working in the Institute of Geophysics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, focusing on rock magnetism applied to environmental problems. Since 1990 main organizer of biennial international meetings on Paleo, Rock and Environmental Magnetism. Since 2015 President of IAGA.
Dr Denise Dr Denise Smythe-Wright (IAPSO)
President: IAPSO
National Oceanography Centre, Southampton, UK

BSc in chemistry and physics moving on to oceanography, with a PhD in estuarine chemistry. President of IAPSO. Now an Honorary Research Fellow at the National Oceanography Centre, having recently retired from leading its trace gas and phytoplankton pigment group. Member of the SCOR and IUGG Executive Committees.
Dr. Stefania Dr. Stefania Sparnocchia (IAPSO)
Secretary General, IAPSO
National Research Council of Italy, Institute of Marine Sciences, Italy

Stefania is an experienced observational oceanographer investigating the circulation, water properties, air-sea interactions, variability and long term trends of the Mediterranean Sea. She is also involved in European projects aimed at exploiting the use of marine research infrastructures and access to data. She started her collaboration with IAPSO in 2007, and is now the Secretary General.
Prof. John Prof. John Turner (IAMAS)
President, IAMAS
British Antarctic Survey, UK

BSc in Physics and Meteorology and PhD on Antarctic Climate Variability. Previously worked at the UK Meteorological Office and now at the British Antarctic Survey, where I lead a group concerned with past and possible future polar climate change. Vice President of IAMAS 2011 – 2015 and President since 2015.